Fresh Tomatoes/Tomato Soup

My tomatoes are ready to harvest! However, they are so small. I only planted roma tomatoes this year and for some reason, I had a lot of blossom-end rot. I’ve since learned why that has happened and I will remedy this for next year, but I have to work with what I’ve got this year. I had hoped to make salsa with my tomatoes, but the tomatoes that are usable are so very small.

My solution? The crockpot! I halved and/or quartered the tomatoes, even the cherry tomatoes that I harvested and placed them in my crockpot. I did not add any water, but the tomatoes were damp because I had them rinsed off and sitting in a bowl of water while I cut them up. They cooked on very low overnight. I awoke to a kitchen that smelled like tomato soup and coffee. Sounds strange, but it was quite a yummy, cozy smell. I am fortunate to have a food mill, so I ran the tomatoes through that and came out with about 8 cups of fresh tomato sauce. I added about a teaspoon of sugar and cooked it down on the stovetop till thickened, ending up with about 6 cups of sauce. Oh, my, the smell was heavenly. Made me have a hankering for tomato soup.

I’ve never made fresh tomato soup, but I thought I could figure it out. I simmered about a tablespoon of freshly minced onion in a blob of butter till softened. To that I added about 1 tsp of garlic powder and a pinch of salt. I spooned about 1 cup of that fresh tomato sauce and 1 cup of milk. This simmered for about 5 minutes and then I added a sprinkling of dried basil. This was good, but something was missing. On a whim, I added a pinch or so of chicken bouillon granules to the soup and let it simmer a bit longer. This was enough to make this soup absolutely delicious. I’m having this with a grilled cheese sandwich for lungh. Yummmmm!

(I regret that I can’t find my camera cord, or I’d have a picture of this to share).

Leave a Reply

