Kitchen Tip Tuesday: Soaking Beans

I’ve recently been diagnosed with a chronic disorder called diverticulosis. New dietary recommendations are to eat a high fiber diet to help with this problem. Since beans are high in fiber and nutrients, I’ve been adding them to my diet slowly. However, beans can have an unpleasant side effect. Beano helps. My mother told me to soak my dried beans before cooking them to help nip that “problem” in the bud. I had heard that tip was an old wives tale. But after reading this article, I will never skip this step again. Apparently beans release a toxin (red kidney beans release the most) that can cause some very serious illness.

My tip: Always soak your dried beans before cooking and never cook dried red kidney beans in a slow cooker (use canned). I hope this spares others from any “problems”.

Leave a Reply

