Kitchen Tip Tuesday: Dating Spices

I don’t often have ideas to share, but this is one I’ve done for quite some time. I’ve been taught that our purchased spices don’t last forever. After awhile they lose their strength and effectiveness. They don’t necessarily “go bad”, they just don’t give the same punch as when they are just purchased. So, unless it is a spice or herb that I use regularly or use a lot of, I buy the smaller sized container. I also will use a Sharpie marker and put the date that I purchased them onto the container. If I notice that a spice or herb is approaching its one year anniversary (lol), I’ll place it on my grocery list and try to work it into my budget in the near future.

For more kitchen tips, hop on over to Tammy’s Recipes. This young mother has a lot of excellent recipes and ideas. I’m sure you’ll find something you’ll like.

And then consider joining me tomorrow for Soup’s On Wednesday!

4 Comments on “Kitchen Tip Tuesday: Dating Spices”

  1. SHerry says:

    Great idea! McCormick also has a website that you can check your spices to see if they are outdated, too. http://www.spicecheckchallenge.com/

  2. glutenfreehomemaker says:

    That’s a good idea. I recently noticed that a couple of my spices didn’t seem very spicy.

  3. Shirley says:

    Thanks for the link!

  4. inmykitchen says:

    Sherry, thanks for the link to McCormick’s. I didn’t know that was available.


Leave a Reply

