Chicken Lo Mein

I think it is good stewardship to make use of food I have on hand. So when I see a yummy recipe that I want to try, I like to adapt it to what I have on hand instead of running to the grocery store to pick up just that one item I don’t have. It saves me time and money. And in my busy life, time = money most of the time! I read a delicious-sounding recipe on Mama’s Fixins for Chicken Lo Mein. I would link directly to that recipe but right now in my head cold-induced fog, I can’t seem to find it. I encourage whoever reads this to look at her site; she has loads of yummy looking recipes.

I hesitate to put her exact recipe on here as I don’t have her permission to share it. So I will tell you things I changed when I adapted her recipe to items I had on hand.

My dear sweetie-pie was in charge of dinner both nights this past weekend, since I had to work. Saturday night we had leftovers and Sunday night he picked up a rotisserie chicken, Yoder’s mashed potatoes (these are better than what I make!), and Freshlike Steamers Buttered Corn. Since only 3 of us ate off the chicken, we have some leftover. I picked the chicken off the bones to use in my Chicken Lo Mein.

Ingredients:
Chicken from the rotisserie chicken
1 handful of spaghetti noodles, cooked per package direction
1 t cornstarch
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 T white wine vinegar
2 T hoisin sauce (this is like chinese BBQ sauce, very distinctly flavored)
1 tsp ginger powder
1 T chopped garlic (from the monster jar in my fridge)
1 bag frozen stir-fry veggies

(Tracy at Mama’s Fixins calls for rice wine vinegar, fresh garlic and ginger and fresh stir fry veggies.)

Combine the liquid ingredients and spices in a small bowl. Stirfry the frozen stir-fry veggies in a bit of vegetable oil until crisp-tender. Stir in the liquid mixture and bring to a boil. cook for about 2 minutes. Add in the chicken and the spaghetti noodles. I had some fresh cilantro on hand, so I sprinkled some chopped up on top of my serving. (No one else likes fresh cilantro around here!) Hubby added the chopped peanuts on top of his serving (nuts are a no-no for me)

This was a good quick and easy meal to use up some leftovers.

Leave a Reply

