THE Best Potato Soup

                    
I combined many different potato soup recipes to come up with what my family calls THE Best Potato Soup recipe.

THE Best Potato Soup

Serves 8

1/2 pound bacon, chopped
1 stalk celery, diced
1 onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
4 large potatoes, peeled and cubed*
3 cups chicken stock
3 tablespoons butter
1/4 cup flour
1 can evaporated milk
1 teaspoon dried tarragon
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper

1. In a Dutch oven, cook bacon over medium-high heat till done. Remove bacon from pan and set aside. Drain off all but 1/4 cup of bacon grease.

2. In bacon grease remaining in pan, saute onion and celery until onion turns clear. Add garlic and continue cooking for 1-2 minutes. Add cubed potatoes and toss to coat. Saute for 3-4 minutes. Return bacon to the pan and add enough chicken stock to just cover potatoes. Cover and simmer until potatoes are tender.

3. In separate pan, melt the butter over medium heat. Whisk in evaporated milk, tarragon, salt and pepper. Bring mixture to a boil and cook stirring constantly until thickened. Stir the cream mixture into the potato mixture. Puree about 1/2 of the soup and return to pan.

*NOTE* I have a new acquaintance whose son is a professionally trained chef. She told me a useful timesaving tip. Her son uses frozen cubed potatoes in his potato soups and salads. This saves on cooking time and prep time. As I’ve said before, for me time=money, this may be worth it. I’ve not tried it yet and I’ll share my results with you when I do.

Leave a Reply

