Mac & Cheese

This is another one of those not-written-down recipes from my mother. It is not fancy, nor difficult, but I loved it as a child and so do my children. I prefer this to the mac & cheese in the blue and yellow box and it is just a simple to make.

Stove-Top Macaroni & Cheese

2 cups elbow macaroni, uncooked
Velveeta cheese
milk
salt
white pepper

Cook the macaroni as directed on the package, being careful to liberally salt the macaroni as it cooks. Drain in a colander and set aside. In that same saucepan, melt a chunk of Velveeta cheese and a splash of milk until the cheese is melted, stirring constantly. The amount you use depends on how cheesy you want this to be. I use about 1/3 of a loaf of the Velveeta, give or take, and about 2 tablespoons of milk. Season with salt and white pepper. (I think my mother used the white pepper for the flavor and so my brother and I would not “see” that there was pepper in the mac & cheese. It doesn’t taste “right” without the pepper.) Once it is melted, stir in the cooked macaroni and heat through, stirring carefully. This will brown and burn quickly if the burner is turned up too high. Serves 4-6.
Leave a Reply

