Broccoli Casserole

Thanksgiving will be here soon. I am part of a very large, very loving family. We love to celebrate around food. Unfortunately, a lot of us are overweight, we like food too well! However, because there are so many to feed on Thanksgiving (close to 70 in the immediate family), this meal is treated as a potluck. The following recipe is my contribution to the Thanksgiving tradition. My mother was given this recipe by a friend of hers when we lived in Portsmouth, Ohio in the late 1960s. This is one of the only ways I will eat broccoli.

Broccoli Casserole
Recipe By: Marilyn Nibert
Serves: 12
2 large bags frozen broccoli
2 teaspoons salt
1 tablespoon sugar
1 stick butter, divided
1 tablespoon flour
1 pinch garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/2 pint sour cream
8 ounces  American cheese slices
2 cups  crushed corn flakes

Cook broccoli as directed on package, adding 1 tsp salt and 1 Tbsp sugar to water as it cooks. Drain.

In  saucepan, melt 1/2 stick butter. Stir in flour, 1 Tsp salt, garlic powder, pepper and sour cream. Set aside.

In a 13 x 9  pan, alternate layers of broccoli, sauce, cheese, broccoli, sauce, cheese, etc. End up with cheese layer. Melt remaining 1/2 stick butter. Combine it with crushed corn flakes. Place on top of casserole.

Bake in 400* oven for 35 minutes.


NOTE: This is good prepared hours before baking. This can be frozen ahead of time. Omit the cornflake crumbs until ready to bake, thaw completely, then add the cornflake crumbs before baking.
2 Comments on “Broccoli Casserole”

  1. Anthea says:

    Hello

    Since my original message disappeared, I am sending you the link to Steph’s Country Kitchen as a thank you to you for helping me find it again.

    You can find old websites at Internet Archive’s Wayback search engine.

    http://web.archive.org/web/20060913231441/www.stephskitchen.com/menuarchives.htm

    http://web.archive.org/web/20070528174322/www.stephskitchen.com/

    Best Wishes

    Anthea

  2. boredcook says:

    This sounds very good. I think I’m going to try this next weekend for my family. I already have planned what I am making and bringing to Thanksgiving dinner. My son “did” love brocolli, but has now decided he hates it. My other two children still like it, and I love it. This is something different I think they may all like. Not to mention, I just bought a brand new box of corn flakes!


Leave a Reply

