King Ranch Chicken Casserole

I had plans on serving this for dinner tonight, but when the time came to make it I realized that no one would be home to eat this except for my husband and me. So I split this recipe into 2 8×8 pans. I baked one and froze the other. One pan served 3 of us with a little bit left over (my daughter came home earlier than expected).

I’ve seen variations of this recipe all over the internet. Here is my version, sent to me by my husband’s coworker.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole
Serves: 8

3 lbs chicken cooked
2 T.  chili powder
1/2 lb. grated cheese
1 can tomatoes and hot chili peppers (like rotel)
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 1/2 c. chicken broth
1 c. chopped onions
1 c. chopped green peppers
1 can mushroom soup
12 soft tortillas

Bone chicken, mix soups, chili powder and chicken broth.  Heat, line large baking dish with 6 tortillas.  layer with 1/2 chicken, 1/2 soup mixture, 1/2 onion, 1/2 pepper and 1/2 cheese. Repeat layers and then pour tomatoes and hot peppers over top and bake at 350 for 1 hour.  Flavors are enhanced if prepared several hours before baking.

Leave a Reply

