Crunchy Carmel Apple Pie

Hello! It has been a very long time since I have updated this site. Truthfully, I haven’t had any “new” recipes to share. However I do have one that I have adapted that I want to share.

I very distinctly remember watching “Good Morning America” and they were sharing the winning apple pie recipe from a contest they had been running. I wasn’t sure how long ago this was, but I was unable to get online to print the recipe. I called my dad and he printed it and emailed it to me. I still have that email and it was dated November 8, 2001!

I made this for Thanksgiving that year and it became my favorite apple pie recipe. That says a lot as I don’t really like apple pie. I love apples, I love pie; just don’t love them combined. Weird!

The original recipe called for pecan pieces. I rather like walnuts better. I also adapted the recipe to more closely resemble the apple pie recipe my mother always made. I am wondering what this would taste like with some Craisins in it too. Hmmmm…..

Crunchy Caramel Apple Pie

(original recipe by Marsha Brooks, 2001)

Pie Filling:

1 unbaked pastry crust for 9″ deep dish pie

1/2 to 1 cup granulated sugar (depends on how sweet your apples are)

3 tablespoons flour

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

1/8 teaspoon salt

6 cups peeled and thinly sliced apples

1 recipe of Crumb Topping (see below)

1/2 cup chopped walnuts (or pecans)

1/4 cup caramel topping (like ice cream topping)

Crumb Topping:

1 cup rolled oats

1 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 cup flour

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

dash salt

1/2 cup butter

Directions:

  1. Make the crumb topping: stir together oats, brown sugar, flour, cinnamon and salt. Cut in butter until it is like coarse crumbs. Set aside
  2. In a large mixing bowl, stir together the sugar, flour, cinnamon and salt. Add the apple slices and gently toss to coat.
  3. Spoon apple mixture into uncooked pie shell. Sprinkle Crumb Topping over the top.
  4. Place the pie on a cookie sheet, in case any of the filling bubbles over during baking. Cover the edges with foil.
  5. Bake in a preheated 375 degree oven for 25 minutes. Then remove the foil and bake for another 25-30 minutes.
  6. Remove the pie from the oven and while it is still hot, sprinkle the chopped nuts over the top. Then drizzle with caramel sauce.
  7. Allow the pie to cool on a wire rack.

This is best if served warm or room temperature. If you refrigerate it, the caramel sauce gets a little too firm.

Leave a Reply

